News & information on Antarctica & the Southern Ocean

Know your penguins! - there are 18 species

The 18 Penguin Species Photo: Peppermint Narwhal

Happy World Penguin Day! Know your penguins! There are eighteen different species, all of which are found in the Southern Hemisphere, though the Galapagos lives right on the Equator. The Emperor is the tallest penguin at more than 1m in height. Many species are threatened or endangered. The eighteen species are Emperor, King, Royal, Adelie, Macaroni, Gentoo, Galapagos, Magellanic, Humboldt, African, Snares, Fiordland, Little Blue, Yellow Eye, Erect Crested, Northern Rockhopper, Southern Rockhopper, and Chinstrap.    


Related Articles
Latest Podcast Episodes